If you think veganism is about restriction, eating wheat-grass and starving all day long not knowing what else you can eat, then you have been highly misled. If you’re looking for quick vegan meal ideas that doesn’t suck, then you’ve come to the right place.
The truth is that there are plenty of common vegan foods you’re probably already eating on a regular basis. Many people trying out veganism end up falling off the wagon after a short period of time because of a very common reason: they are not eating enough calories.
“I’ll just have a salad… I’m trying out a vegan diet”
If you’ve heard some variation of that before, that is because that mindset is very common. It seems like a lot of people are not aware of the huge variety of things they can put into their diet once they get rid of the animal products. In this article I will suggest to you some ideas that might help you put your meals together.
A Couple Of Ideas To Help You Plan Your Meals
A common ingredient in wheat pastas is 100% durum wheat semolina, it is a type of wheat with a high gluten strength. I also eat a lot of gluten-free pastas that’s made with rice, corn or quinoa flour, I have heard that this is easier to digest. Making pasta is extremely simple, healthy, and filling. If you normally put in meatballs with tomato sauce, you can replace the meat with a variety of vegan meat replacement options such as Gardein’s Meatless Meatballs.
2. Oreo Cookies
Probably a lot people might not have known that oreo cookies along with their creamy center is completely vegan. There are no animal products in oreo cookies, but since the equipment they use to make oreos are also used to make other non-vegan things like milk chocolate, the oreos could possibly pick up traces of those non-vegan ingredients in the process.
There are many vegan options when ordering sushi from your favorite japanese restaurants. Any kind of vegetable can go in the center instead of fish. A common type of vegan sushi is Kappa Maki which means “cucumber roll”. Other common popular ones that are vegan include inari sushi, avocado and yam tempura sushi. They are pretty easy to make if you have a sushi rolling mat, which you can find at a lot of asian supermarkets. Here is a simple and easy Kappa Maki tutorial.
Most regular potato chips and many corn tortilla chips are vegan, but check the list of ingredients to make sure, some varieties and brands can contain lard, which is pig fat.
If you’re a doritoholic (big fan of doritos chips), you will be happy to know that the “spicy sweet chili” flavor is vegan, it is full of flavor and no dip is needed!
Many other popular brands of chips are also vegan.
- Kettle brand Jalenpeno chips – a childhood favorite from the vending machine.
- Kettle brand Salt & Vinegar chips – I hate salt & vinegar chips, but different strokes for different folks, you may like them.
- Kettle brand maple bacon chips – despite the non-vegan sounding name, these chips are vegan!
- Xtra Tangy Buffalo Wing Pringles – vegan again, no chicken or buffalo wings in sight
- Sun Chips Original – healthier for you and still delicious and satisfy the crunch craving
- Earth Balance Vegan Cheddar Flavor Chips – pick these up at your local whole-foods or health food store
- Pop Chips Original – Air popped chips, lower in fat and healthier than traditional potato chips
- Lay’s Barbecue & Classic – popular brand name chips, both are vegan
5. French Fries
Just like chips french fries are usually vegan, especially if you buy them from a bag in the frozen section at the grocery store. However, if you were to get them from a fast food restaurant just know that they most likely do not have a separate fryer just for the fries, meaning they fry the fries in the same oil as they used to fry chicken nuggets and other things.
Vegan products can be found anywhere, in any meal of the day. If you’re like me then you can’t imagine starting off your day in any other way than a huge bowl of cereal with cold milk. Many of your favorite cereals are already vegan, just replace the cow’s milk with vegan almond or rice milk.
Some of the more common cereals that are vegan include: Fruity Pebbles, Reese’s Puffs, Cap’n Crunch, Rice Krispies, Corn Pops, Nesquik Cocoa Puffs, Kashi Island Vanilla Whole Wheat Biscuits, Cascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon Crunch, Barbara’s Bakery Puffins… I’m sure I missed a few. As you can see, vegans have plenty of options.
A quick tip: To quickly check if something is vegan or not, just look at the bottom of the list of ingredients. They will usually highlight milk, nuts or wheat ingredients to warn people who are allergic to them. Although if you want to be 100% sure you should read each ingredient individually, because some mysterious sounding ingredients such as L-cysteine, are derived from duck feather and are not vegan.
A lot of freshly baked breads in your local supermarket only contain a few simple ingredients such as flour, water, yeast, and salt. If they have like 20 different things in them with some you can’t even pronounce, then just skip that one or check online to see if they’re vegan. Personally I don’t really care enough to check 100% of the time. If I find out later that the bread I’ve been eating has beetle shells in them or whatever, then I won’t buy them anymore next time.
Silver Hills is a company that makes whole-grain vegan breads. They are very popular where I live and are found abundantly in every big supermarket. If I wanted a bread that I know is 100% vegan then I’ll choose Silver Hill. They currently have two gluten free options, “omega flax” and “chia chia” bread.
You can find samosas in a lot of places that make them vegan. They’re made with wheat flour and stuffed with things like potatoes, onions, green peas, spices, then deep fried in vegetable oil. If you’re avoiding high fat foods then you may find baked samosas in the frozen food section of your local grocery, although it taste 100x better deep fried.
As you can see, it is not very difficult to find a variety of vegan foods in the common things that you are probably already eating, and a lot things like the sushi and samosas can be customized to make it vegan. I hope you have gotten some ideas from this article, and if you have any comments or suggestions, please leave them in the box below.