18 Everyday Foods That Are Surprisingly Vegan

lady shocked surprised foods are plant based

After I went vegan in 2012, many people thought I’d be starving and lacking in energy because I wouldn’t be able to find anything good to eat, besides you know… carrots, tofu, brown rice.. etc

But what’s exciting is discovering that many of the foods that I’ve eaten my whole life…are already vegan! I laugh whenever people tell me they would “never eat anything vegan.” Hello? Bread is vegan. Pasta is vegan. Fruit, grains, potatoes, potato chips, fries, burritos…and the list goes on.

Here are the top 18 everyday mundane foods that are surprisingly vegan. They’re “surprisingly vegan” because these foods aren’t marketed as vegan or made for vegans per se, but just so happens to not contain any animal products. They’re foods that both vegans and non-vegans already eat everyday, that just so happen to be vegan. Without further ado, let’s start the countdown:

1. Oreo Cookies

When I read somewhere that oreos were 100% vegan, I was very skeptical. I thought it had to contain milk, cream, or something like that, right? I checked, checked again, and triple checked the list of ingredients on the back….yep, they’re vegan. Not healthy for you, but at least you can eat them without the guilt of supporting animal cruelty.

2. Instant Jell-O Vanilla Pudding Mix

I used to eat these creamy custardy vanilla pudding desserts all the time. After I went vegan I thought for sure it was out of the picture for good. Until one day I was grocery shopping and just looking around, I grabbed a box of these pudding mixes and out of curiosity looked at the ingredients, I found no animal products! The directions say to mix the powder with skim milk, but you can easily substitute it with some almond milk or rice milk.

3. Smucker’s Marshmallow Topping

I was very surprised that this was a vegan product, because marshmallows are usually not vegan due to the use of gelatin to make it. This stuff is 100% vegan, you can put it on your vegan ice cream, or make smores cookie sandwiches. It’s incredible, you can still eat anything you want on a plant-based lifestyle.

4. Taco Bell’s Bean Burrito (Ask for Fresco)

Taco bell offers a lot of vegan options such as beans, rice, salsa, flour wraps..etc  Just make sure your burritos and wraps are vegan by requesting your server to hold the cheese and sour creams, or you can just say “make it fresco style,” which means replacing the non-vegan stuff with vegan, any item at taco bell can be made fresco!

5. Mcdonald’s French Fries & Hash Browns

If you live in the USA then I guess you won’t find any vegan french fries or hash browns since they contain beef flavorings or fried in the same oil as animal products. But in certain countries they’re vegan. I live in Canada and here they use a separate fryer dedicated to making fries and hash browns, and with none of the beef flavorings.

Read More: How To Eat Vegan at McDonalds

6. Fritos Corn Chips

Fritos corn chips come in a variety of mouthwatering flavors, some are vegan and some are not. The vegan ones are the Fritos Original, BBQ, and Fritos Scoops.

7. Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup

It’s hard to believe that this thick milky creamy syrup used to put in milk and ice cream is 100% vegan. It only has 5 ingredients: High fructose corn syrup, cane sugar, cocoa, water, and corn syrup. Pour this bad boy over your vegan ice cream, or in some almond or rice milk to make vegan chocolate milk.

8. Nesquik’s Chocolate Drink Powder Mix

Growing up this was my favorite chocolate drink mix. A classic childhood favorite, and it’s totally vegan. The chocolate powder is vegan, and instead of mixing it in cow’s milk, just use some plant-based milks instead like almond milk, hemp milk, rice milk…etc plenty of choices out there.

9. Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

You don’t need butter to get that buttery and flaky texture, and these vegan crescent rolls proved this. Made with vegetable oils like soybean oil, hydrogenated palm oil, you get the buttery taste without the butter.

10. Ritz Crackers (Original & Peanut Butter)

Just like the pillsbury crescent rolls, these buttery and flaky crackers are made with vegetable oils and not butter.

11. Unfrosted Pop Tarts

There are many varieties of pop tarts, many are not vegan but some are. Firstly, avoid the frosted ones as they’re not vegan, get the unfrosted ones. The flavors that are vegan are the apple cinnamon, brown sugar cinnamon, strawberry, and blueberry.

12. Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars

Crunchy granola bars are a great snack, and some are a good source of vegan protein. A lot of these granola bars contain milk ingredients, making them non vegan. Fortunately a few varieties are vegan, they are: crunchy peanut butter, roasted almonds, apple crisp, cinnamon, maple brown sugar, and pecan crunch.

13. animal cookies

Yes, despite some old jokes about “can vegans eat animal cookies?” a lot of animal cookies are vegans. It may be obvious but animal cookies aren’t actually made with animals…duh.

Read More: Can Vegans Eat Animal Cookies?

14. Duncan Hines Double Fudge Decadent Brownie Mix

We’re at #14 already and I hope you’re now getting excited. I mean, what can’t vegans eat? All you have to do is avoid the animal ingredients. This double fudge brownie mix is incredible. Chocolatey, chewy, fudge brownies, totally vegan. Well, the mix itself is vegan. In the directions they tell you to mix in an egg, but there’s a vegan way around it by using egg substitutes like apple sauce or flax seeds. Check out this post:

Read More: 5 Egg Substitutes for Vegan Baking

15. Nesquik Chocolate Puffs Cereal

Like the Nesquik chocolate drink mix, this was my favorite childhood cereal, still is to this day. I love sprinkling some of that Nesquik chocolate drink mix powder onto my Nesquik chocolate cereal, it turns the milk (almond or rice milk) a lot more chocolatey.

16. Cracker Jack caramel coated popcorn

No butter, no milk, no animal products, all vegan! They taste incredible, I don’t understand why people need to add a bunch of animal ingredients to everything when they can be left out and still taste amazing.

17. Doritos (Spicy Sweet Chili)

I loved dorito chips when I was a teenager. It was my favorite chips to munch on while I watched TV after school. If you love doritos like I do, you’d be happy to learn that they have a vegan flavor, the spicy sweet chili is 100% vegan.

18. Kettle Brand Chips

Wait till you hear which 2 flavors are vegan…. the sea salt & vinegar, and the maple bacon. Names can be very deceiving, they call it “bacon” but there’s no bacon in it whatsoever. For those new vegans out there who miss the taste and flavor of bacon, go get yourself some maple bacon kettle chips!

Final Thoughts

On this blog I promote a healthy diet and lifestyle. Many of these foods although vegan aren’t very healthy for you, so eat them in moderation or you’ll end up as a fat vegan. But if you like junk food, then why not go with the vegan junk food? If you close your eyes and eat the stuff on this list, you wouldn’t even be able to tell it’s vegan or not vegan.

By eating animal products, you are contributing to the industries that exploit and abuse animals. Becoming vegetarian is not enough, eggs are dairy are just as bad. If you love animals, the best thing you can do is to go vegan and choose to buy products that do not contain any animal ingredients.

Please follow and like us:

One thought on “18 Everyday Foods That Are Surprisingly Vegan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *